St Vladimir’s Seminary Faculty Chair Awards Conferred

Last month, in a joint ceremony honoring His Holiness, Baselios Marthoma Mathews III, the primate of the Malankara Orthodox Syrian Church (MOSC) of India, several distinguished SVOTS faculty members were also honored by the announcement of faculty chairs, sponsored by long-standing endowments. These faculty awards are a major first step toward SVOTS' goal of creating faculty chairs in the various academic disciplines represented at the Seminary (and other disciplines as SVOTS looks to expand its faculty).

“The creation of faculty chairs, with support from our endowments, will give us more freedom to do other things in addition to expanding the faculty and supporting related programs and degree programs we offer,” Fr. Chad Hatfield, President of Seminary, explained.

He then announced the following honors: SVOTS Academic Dean Dr. Ionuț-Alexandru Tudorie has been named Peter N. Gramowich Professor of Church History; Dr. Peter C. Bouteneff is Kulik Professor of Sacred Arts and Systematic Theology; The Rev. Dr. Bogdan Bucur is John Meyendorff Associate Professor of Patristics; The Rev. Dn. Dr. Vitaly Permiakov is Alexander Schmemann Assistant Professor of Liturgical Theology; Dr. Harrison Russin is Prokofiev Assistant Professor of Liturgical Music; and finally The Very Rev. Dr. Chad Hatfield himself was named Skvir Professor of Pastoral Theology.

May God grant all SVOTS faculty members many, many years!